Wireless transmeters for sound, are they a good idea?

Hi everyone,

My name is Albert Guimerà Montserrat and I am a Spanish film school student.

Recently, I was watching some behind the scenes footage for a short film and I notices that the boom had no cable running down it and that the mixer had no cables plugged into it. After some more careful viewing, I notices that both the boom’s shotgun mic and the mixer had a wireless transmeter/receiver plueged in and I bean to wonder if I should use these because, apparently, they look like the stuff of dreams (no cables get tangled, nobody trips over anything, your boom operator and sound recordist can be separate from one another…)

I have several questions which I hope you can help me answer since I haven’t really been able to find a reliable source of information on the internet.

Do wireless transmeters amplify the signal from mic level to line level? If they do, shouldn’t this eliminate/reduce the effect of having a good mixer with nice pre-amps? Do wireless transmeters add noise to your signal? Are all/most transmeters okay or do you have to buy high end ones? Why do people keep using XLR cables when this option is available to them?

I hope my questions didn’t sound too stupid.

Looking forward to your answers and helpful advice,

Albert

I can’t answer all these questions, @Kevin_Senzaki would be the best person to cover this but here are the answers I can give.

Do wireless transmitters add noise to your signal?

They can … depending on interference, the type of technology used, how cheaply they are made. But in good conditions with good transmitters there is no extra noise added.

Are all/most transmitters okay or do you have to buy high end ones?

Depends what you mean by high end. Saramonic has a low cost kit that is apparently pretty awesome, the next up is R0De and then you get into what I consider completely un-adffordable. Below the Saramonic kit is pretty much all garbage.

Saramonic SR-WM4C - 100$